Skip to Content

Department of Philosophy


Justin Weinberg to Participate in APA Webinar

The webinar, "The Ethics of AI in Philosophy", will take place Thursday, October 12th at 2 p.m. (Eastern).

Patrick Brissey wins College of Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Teaching Award.

This annual award for professional track faculty recognizes excellence in instruction to undergraduate students.

Emily Mathias Earns Bilinski Fellowship for '23 - '24

Congratulations to Emily Mathias who has recently been awarded a Bilinski Dissertation Fellowship!

2022 to 2023 Graduate Philosophy Awards

The Philosophy Department has awarded its annual graduate Philosophy Awards. Congratulations to the winners!

Salomon Campos-Rice wins Undergraduate Research Award at 2023 Discover USC Conference

Salomon, mentored by Dr. Justin Weinberg, was awarded second place in his division for his project, "The Role of Moral Theory in Regulating Offensive Behavior."

Matthew Traverez wins the award for the best undergraduate paper at the South Carolina Society for Philosophy!

Undergraduates Evan Barker and Kyle Barnes, as well as faculty Agnes Bolinska, Thomas Burke, and Brett Sherman were also in attendance.

Congratulations to Excel grant winners Tom Burke and Brett Sherman!

Burke's project takes a pragmatist look at the Second Amendment, whiles Sherman's project challenges the traditional "possible worlds" framework.

2023 Undergraduate philosophy Awards

The Philosophy Department has awarded its annual undergraduate Philosophy Awards. Congratulations to the winners!

Should dyslexics pursue philosophy?

As someone with dyslexia and dysgraphia, Tyke Nunez posts on Daily Nous about whether these are sufficient reasons not to go to graduate school in philosophy.

Agnes Bolinska featured in the Chronicle of Higher Education!

The article is about Agnes' participation in a Duke seminar on teaching civil discourse in an age of political polarization. Agnes will be teaching a course related to this work in the Honors College this spring. 

Rosamond Kent Sprague passes away

Rosamond Sprague passed away on September 10th at the age of 100

Eric Mullis highlighted as an American philosopher

Eric Mullis (UofSC Philosophy PhD 2005) was recently interviewed in a series "I Am An American Philosopher" hosted by the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy.

Jerry Hackett wins the Franciscan Institute Medal

Jerry won the medal for excellence in Franciscan Studies and magisterial scholarship on the works of Roger Bacon.

Marco Forgione receives postdoc at Milan

Congratulations Marco! The postdoc is at the University of Milan in the research group "Proteus: Paradoxes and Metaphors of Time in Early Universe(s)"

Dustin Sigsbee wins Bilinski Dissertation Fellowship!

Congratulations to Dustin Sigsbee who has been selected as one of new Bilinksi Foundation Fellows for 2022.

Stewart defends her PhD: Alexa, Should I Trust You? A Theory of Trustworthiness for Artificial Intelligence

Congratulations to Lizzy Stewart who recently defended her dissertation on trustworthiness and AI.

Jim Stewart wins South Carolina Society for Philosophy prize

Congratulations to Jim Stewart for winning the SCSP award for the "Best Paper by a Graduate Student" at the 2022 joint meeting of the SCSP & NCPS at Converse University.

Forgione defends his PhD:

Congratulations to Marco Forgione who recently defended his thesis on Richard Feynman's view of spacetime

2021 to 2022 Annual Graduate Philosophy Awards

The Philosophy Department has awarded its annual graduate Philosophy Awards. Congratulations to the winners!

Lynne Taylor to attend the University of South Florida

Congratulations to Lynne Taylor! She has been accepted to, and plans on attending, graduate school in philosophy at the University of South Florida this coming Fall.

Graduate admissions deadline February 15th!

The department of philosophy has extended its deadline and will now be accepting applications until February 15th

Grace Regnier awarded Scholarship to Oxford

Congratulations to Grace Regnier! Senior philosophy major Grace Regnier has been awarded the John & Daria Barry Scholarship to Oxford!

Samuel Miller-Poling to attend Emory Law

Congratulations to Samuel Miller-Poling! He has been accepted to, and plans on attending, Emory's School of Law this coming Fall

2021 Graduate student awards

Congratulations to Marco Forgione, Dustin Sigsbee and Apurva Parikh!

Avery Kral will study History & Philosophy of Science at Cambridge

Congratulations to Avery Kral! Before heading to Cambridge next year, this summer Avery will study Biblical Hebrew with Harvard Divinity School.


News Archive

2023    2022    2021    2020     2019     2018     2017

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.